Home > Blog tips > Into Blogging

Into Blogging

September 23, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yuppy, I too have entered the blogging world. Holy shit I didnt know one need to decide so many things while blogging.

First I needed to take up a decision on which blog host provider I needed to choose. I had many options. I tried out the following ones.

1. WordPress

2. Blogger

3. Blogetery

4. Blog.co.in

5. Yola ( Not an xclusive Blogging site)

Many suggested me to blog in wordpress. But I needed revenue from blog. But I knew wordpress have many tweaks in that perspective. I, being a free user, wasn’t given provisions like CSS editing, installation of extra plugins,etc.  If you have a blog, “no matter how popular,” the revenue from AdSense or some similar tools will probably never “pay you even minimum wage for the time you spend writing it.” Of course, that’s fine for bloggers more interested in fame or influence than in money or for blogs  that are loss leaders for more lucrative endeavours, such as writing books or making speeches. But if you have to earn a living from the Web, “free” can be a problem. As far as am concerned I haven’t started earning money from the ‘Web World’. So ‘being free’ isn’t going to be a problem. On second thoughts, wont it be quite good if I get some extra money through web. Man, I tell you am totally confused. So first I should decide whether I should blog for money, fame or influence. As am still in a dilemma, let me blog for the mere fact that ‘Am crazy’. So leaving the idea of ‘Money from blog’, I eventually settled on WP after  trying a number of different blogging tools. Still, am not able to stabilize on a WP free theme.

Friends, I need your frank comments on how and what should I blog. So please do make comments.

Categories: Blog tips Tags: ,
  1. crz
    September 23, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Welcome aboard.
    Money is so hard to generate from a blog unless you turn out to be engadget, gizmodo or that sort. That too wouldn’t be possible unless you have a team or shamelessly plagiarize from the above said or similar sites. But that can be serious violation and can land you into trouble. So basically my advice is (since I blog too) is not to think about monetery rewards for the time being. think about this as a learning experience. Write what you learn and make it as a platform to improve your career.

    Jounalist is anice looking theme for geek bloggers. So stick with it and once you star your own site export this blog to it, then you can design theme of your own which is in sync with your site.

    Just my 50 paise (There is so much of cents rolling out. SO this i my chance to move around Indian money and help Indian economy)

  2. drunkenmystic
    March 20, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    That’s one bit of information you have shared. I just read that it’s difficult for Indians and Chinese or probably Asians, I am not sure…but the blog mentioned that Google Adsense takes six months to approve Indian and Chinese accounts. I don’t know why it’s that difficult for them. I already tried signing up with Adsense and my blog site got rejected. I don’t know if I can try again or not. Maybe starting your own site and linking it with Google Adsense would generate more revenues. Thanks for sharing though.

    I have been writing partly because I have a passion for writing and sharing some knowledge with a very bleak sense hope that maybe my writings could make a difference.

    But reading your blog was informative. Keep it rolling!!!

    • March 21, 2010 at 12:01 am

      Thanks for dropping in… U seems like a NRI from UK who is currently in India 😀

      • March 27, 2010 at 10:22 pm

        I am not an NRI. I am a proper Indian living in India. 🙂

  1. July 10, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

